Book review: A Programmer’s Introduction to Mathematics

Crystal X
8 min readMay 29, 2024

A few months ago a friend gifted me the book, ‘A Programmer’s Introduction to Mathematics’, written by Keremy Kun. I put the book aside with the intent of studying it when I had more time. A few weeks ago I had the time, so I decided to look at the book. When I began reading the book I realised that although the title said it was an introduction to mathematics, it certainly was not any introduction to anything that I have ever seen.

As I perused the tome, I learned that the author, Jeremy Kun, is a software engineer at Google and has a doctorate in mathematics. When I noted to my friend who gifted me the book that, as an introductory work, it was very difficult to read and understand, he had a look at the work and informed me that it was written for master’s degree students. I was very relieved, therefore to realise that I was not totally inept at math, just not experienced enough in my academic pursuits. I don’t feel so bad now about having difficulty taking in the work because I do not have an undergraduate degree in mathematics, computer programming, or computer science.

Nevertheless, I have gone through the work with the intention of reviewing it, so I will cover the concepts that I picked up whilst reading it.

Summation

--

--

Crystal X

I have over five decades experience in the world of work, being in fast food, the military, business, non-profits, and the healthcare sector.