Course Review: Udacity Data Structures and algorithms

Crystal X
10 min readDec 14, 2021

Udacity’s course, Data Structures and Algorithms, is intended for those individuals who are intending to go on interviews in the field of data science. While I don’t think I am going to be on any interviews, namely because of my age and health, I decided it would be a good idea to take the course nevertheless to see if the content will help me in the projects I am currently involved in.

Below is a review of the course and my thoughts about the content:-

Lesson 1: Introduction and Efficiency

The purpose of data structures and algorithms is to invent efficient solutions to unsolved problems using algorithms and data structures.

An algorithm is a program that solves a problem. It is a series of steps to solve a problem. It is a high level description of a trick for solving a problem.

Data types:-

  1. String = “ “
  2. List = [ ]
  3. Tuple = ( )
  4. Dictionary = {}
  5. Boolean = True or False
  6. Number = 1 or 1.0
  7. Variable with zero data = None

Types of loops

  1. For
  2. While

--

--

Crystal X

I have over five decades experience in the world of work, being in fast food, the military, business, non-profits, and the healthcare sector.