Course review: Udemy’s Computer Vision with OpenCV Python Official Open CV Course

Tracyrenee
3 min readFeb 14, 2024

Most of the data science work that I undertake is with tabular data, but I do on occasion try my hand at computer vision.

I read an article about free computer vision courses, and found an OpenCV computer vision course hosted by Udemt, and decided to give it a try.

OpenCV is a computer vision library that has around 2,500 optimised algorithms and the free tutorial demonstrated a few of them.

The tutorial is a good introductory course that leads into other paid OpenCV courses that individuals can take in an attempt to further enhance their skills in computer vision. I did have a peak at OpenCV’s paid courses and I must mention that they are not cheap, with some plans ranging from several hundred or thousand pound Sterling. I cannot afford to take a course of that calibre, so I will just stick to the free courses for the time being.

One problem that I had with the course was the fact that I prefer to use Google Colab, which is a free online Jupyter Notebook that has OpenCV’s library, cv2, already installed. Some of the functions in OpenCV do not work on Google Colab, and patches need to be installed to be able to use the library.

Another problem that I had when I tried to use the camera on my three year old…

--

--

Tracyrenee

I have five decades experience in the world of work, being in fast food, the military, business, non-profits, and the healthcare sector.