Use SQL to find three names in the USA names bigquery dataset

Crystal X
3 min readJul 16, 2024

In my last post I discussed how to use SQL to find data on a bigquery dataset, and that post can be found here:- https://medium.com/@tracyrenee61/use-sql-to-find-specific-names-and-states-in-a-bigquery-dataset-ac594ce250f7

In this post I intend to find three names in the same USA names bigquery dataset.

One thing that I have found of interest is that the SQL language is interlayed within another language, and in this case it is the Python programming language.

I have used Kaggle’s USA Names bigquery dataset and it can be found here:- https://www.kaggle.com/datasets/datagov/usa-names

I created a Jupyter Notebook and saved it into my Kaggle account.

Once the Jupyter Notebook was created, I imported the libraries that I would need to execute the program, being:-

  1. Bigquery to run the queries in SQL,
  2. Numpy to create numpy arrays and perform numerical computations,
  3. Pandas to create dataframes and process data, and
  4. Matplotlib to visualise the data.

--

--

Crystal X

I have over five decades experience in the world of work, being in fast food, the military, business, non-profits, and the healthcare sector.