Why I am reconsidering my decision to learn Python’s Flax library

Tracyrenee
4 min readFeb 19, 2024

I have been studying Python’s Jax and then later Flax libraries for the last six months and found it to be somewhat difficult to achieve. The reason for this is because both Jax and Flax have undergone changes since they were initially made, which means that the code that was written when the libraries first came on the scene is different from the code that is available now. To further complicate the issue, I am working on my own, so the only way that I can learn these two libraries is to study code that is available on the internet.

Although ChatGPT is a large language model that is supposed to be a Godsend to the world, the free version (which is the version I use) only has data in it that was produced before 2021. All of the code I have seen that has been written in Jax, and then Flax, therefore has been written with deprecated code. I have tried to use ChatGPT to find good code for both Jax and Flax, and have found the code on the system to be riddled with bugs because the programs written before 2021 are now deprecated.

--

--

Tracyrenee

I have five decades experience in the world of work, being in fast food, the military, business, non-profits, and the healthcare sector.